My name is Alex and I am a `Roller Derby` widow

There, I`ve come out and I`m proud of it.

I am a roller derby widow and I`m not ashamed to admit it. My wife, aka Daisy Deadline of the Rapscallion Rollers, has been into roller derby for a year or so now. Its her passion. If shes wearing a t-shirt it`ll most probably have a roller derby theme to it. If shes rerading a magazine its most likely going to be Leadjammer or Inside Line. We watch `Whip It` (a roller derby movie) a lot. You get the picture.

Roller derby

Roller derby

This is no bad thing though. Especially being a fan of action sports and photography. Each game, or bout, brings with it photo opportunities by the shed load. All are challenging shoots due to being inside and usually poorly lit, but if you have a bit of camera control the results are some great action shots.

Roller derby

Roller derby

These shots are from the last bout we attended. Unfortunately Daisy is on the bench due the nine month injury, or pregnancy as they call it.  So at the mo all her derby is done from the suicide seats. The bout was the SW:UK final featuring team from south west England including Plymouth City Roller Girls (PCRG) and South West Angels of Terror (SWAT) who contested the final. SWAT won in a super close bout and I got some awesome shots.

Roller derby

Roller derby

Being a derby widow aint all that bad. I`d recommend the sport to anyone, whether watching, playing or photographing. Plus your wife gets to kick ass and look hot in her uniform. Yep, I`m a roller derby widow and proud of it.

Roller derby

Roller derby

You can find out more about Daisy and her journey as a pregnant roller girl here http://ukrollerderbymum1.wordpress.com/

and see more of my bout photos here http://www.flickr.com/photos/alexwoodhouse/sets/72157629115815988/

