Cornish Mining Heritage

Nancegollen Mine #1

Nancegollen Mine #1

I`ve been working on this project for a while now, it`s a labour of love really. I`m planning to photograph as many Cornish mining ruins as possible and eventually show them locally in exhibition. I don`t quite know what it is about these lonely, crumbling engine house`s and stacks. They offer a haunting glimpse back to another time and place. Photographically I think they are stunning. Add some moody skies or a sunset and you`ve a beautiful, and iconic, Cornish view.

Nancegollen Mine #2

Nancegollen Mine #2

So far I`ve been to a fair few sites. I`m concentrating first on the west Cornwall area (Camborne/Redruth/Penwith) as there is a wealth of material here to capture. I then plan to cast my net further afield and revisit the mines of Caradon where I used to live and explore pre photography days. I`m also sticking to black & white images for the most part. I`ve even dug out the old analogue film camera and am heading to the darkroom for some old style printing from actual negatives!

Stray Park Mine

Mining heritage project

My results so far have been a cross between landscape and abstract images. I`m trying to portray the subject from both angles. Photos both showing them in a wider view, and details of what I see as beautiful but neglected ghosts of Cornwalls industrial history.

Mining Heritage

Mining Heritage

More of the project so far can be viewed here at my Flickr page – http://www.flickr.com/photos/alexwoodhouse/sets/72157629465402723/

